top of page
Search
  • Elena Vallejo

What's On Your Playlist?


Music has helped me through some rough times. It is not a cure for depression or for my anxiety, but many times it makes me feel better. Even when it doesn’t make me feel better, it helps me to feel something. It is impossible to name my absolute favorite music of all time, but these three songs are somewhere at the top of my list.

3. Blessings by Laura Story

This song is a reminder that life is going to be difficult at times but maybe there is a reason in the big plan. Sometimes the hard things lead to healing and growth.

'Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops

What if Your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You're near

What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

2. You Say by Lauren Daigle

This song helps me remember that I am loved and that I have a purpose. The words remind me that even when I doubt myself or others doubt me, I was created for a reason.

I keep fighting voices in my mind that say I'm not enough

Every single lie that tells me I will never measure up

Am I more than just the sum of every high and every low?

Remind me once again just who I am, because I need to know, ooh oh

You say I am loved when I can't feel a thing

You say I am strong when I think I am weak

And You say I am held when I am falling short

And when I don't belong, oh, You say I am Yours

And I believe

1) Dear Theodosia

This song calms me down when I am anxious. In fact, no matter how I am feeling, it makes me feel better."Dear Theodosia" is from the musical, Hamilton, based on the life of Alexander Hamilton. If you have not seen this production, it is a must-see if you get the chance. During this song the characters Aaron Burr and Alexander Hamilton sing about their hopes and dreams for their newborn babies; Burr for his daughter, Theodosia, and Hamilton his son, Philip.They vow to be there for their children, even though their own fathers were absent.

We'll bleed and fight for you, we'll make it right for you

If we lay a strong enough foundation

We'll pass it on to you, we'll give the world to you

And you'll blow us all away

Someday

Girl on Fire of the Week

Ashley Dean is a friend and mentor to Love Girls Magazine. She is our Girl on Fire because she is always using her gift and love of music to lift others.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page